Nazarene

“After Herod died, an angel of the LORD spoke to Joseph in a dream while he was in Egypt. The angel said, ‘Get up! Take the child and his mother and go to the land of Israel, because the people who were trying to kill the child are now dead.’

“So Joseph took the child and his mother and went to Israel. But he heard that Archelaus was now king in Judea since his father Herod had died. So Joseph was afraid to go there. After being warned in a dream, he went to the area of Galilee, to a town called Nazareth, and lived there. And so what God had said through the prophets came true: ‘He will be called a Nazarene’” (Matthew 2:19-23).

I’m reminded of a song we’d sing at my local Pentecostal church when I was a young Christian. I tried to find a rendition that included all the verses, and this one is absolutely great; you can tell their hearts are in what they’re singing. It may be an old song, but it’s timeless I think.

* * *

I stand amazed in the presence of Jesus the Nazarene,
And wonder how He could love me – a sinner, condemned unclean:
How marvellous, how wonderful,
And my song shall ever be:
How marvellous, how wonderful
Is my Saviour’s love for me
.

For me it was in the garden, He prayed ‘Not My will, but Thine’;
He had no tears for His own griefs, but sweat drops of blood for mine:
How marvellous

In pity angels beheld Him, and came from the world of light
To comfort Him in the sorrows He bore for my soul that night:
How marvellous

He took my sin and my sorrows; He made them His very own –
He bore the burden to Calvary, and suffered and died alone:
How marvellous

When with the ransomed in glory, His face I at last shall see,
‘Twill be my joy through the ages to sing of His love for me:
How marvellous, how wonderful,
And my song shall ever be:
How marvellous, how wonderful
Is my Saviour’s love for me
.

Your Thoughts?

