Top 10 Books of 2016 + Some Upcoming Reads

Goodreads is great, though the app is much easier to use than the website. It’s fun to set myself a reading challenge and tick them off as I go through the year. I’m sure I’ve read more books because of it. These are a few that impressed me:

10. “21 Seconds to Change Your World”

About the prayer Jesus taught and the 23rd Psalm. This stayed with me because they’re Bible-passages I wouldn’t have ordinarily put together, but I saw their similarities, and the seconds they take to say can be life-altering. There are several books on prayer I’d still like to read. One is “Living the Serenity Prayer”. This is my mum’s favourite prayer and she’s been living it ever since I was born premature and one of twins.

9. “God is a Matchmaker”

Dealt with the topic of marriage extensively, even considering the way bride and groom interact with their parents – a subject rarely discussed in similar books. In 2017 I want to read “Sacred Marriage” by Gary Thomas because I’ve seen it quoted so many times, and I bought it when it was on offer.

8-7.

I’ve read several of Annie Downs’ books this year. “Let’s all be Brave” is a skilful piece of writing, with the chapters presented in pairs – the bravery of perseverance, or of letting go; the courage to say yes, and how saying no can be just as courageous. Because I loved this so much, I tried “Perfectly Unique”, even though it was written for teenagers. Really it would be just as good for adults. It’s the best book I’ve seen on glorifying God with your whole body. The only one of Annie’s I haven’t read is “Speak Love” – again because it was written for teenagers, but now I won’t let that put me off.

6. “God is Just not Fair”

Written by Jennifer Rothschild, who lost her sight when she was fifteen, this book about her wrestling with hard questions was hugely helpful and encouraging. Next I’d like to read “Mum’s List” – a list written to a husband and sons by their wife and mother, who was dying of cancer. I heard the husband interviewed on local radio and he sounded so nice, it made me want to buy the book.

5-4. Children

This year I reviewed “Jesus Talked to me Today”, which was better than expected. I also read a book I’d never heard of called “Touching Heaven” because I had an Email to say it was reduced, and I really enjoyed Leanne’s accounts of helping children in her hospital chaplaincy work. One child-focused book on my list for 2017 is “Always Enough: God’s Miraculous Provision Among the Poorest Children on Earth”.

3. “Watching the Wheels”

Written to a tight deadline, there are a few mistakes in this, but it’s an in-depth look at Damon Hill and how his early life shaped him as a person. The way he described depression is spot-on; I even shared it on Facebook with a link to the book. (I don’t know whether it got him any more readers, but Damon, I tried!) Aside from Formula One, I found some novels about NASCAR that I’m looking forward to: The RPM series by Chris Fabry. I had no idea he’d written so many books!

2-1. Novels

I read for the first time this year “Redeeming Love” by Francine Rivers (a modern-day take on the Biblical story of Hosea), and “This Present Darkness” by Frank Peretti (about the battle between good and evil). “The Visitation” looks another good one from Frank, and there are lots by Francine Rivers I haven’t got around to yet.

What were your best books of 2016 and why?

Your Thoughts?

